UK FRIENDS OF HEALING FOCUS

MISSION

UK Friends of Healing Focus work in partnership with the Ugandan NGO Healing Focus School and Orphanage Center to improve the education, development and welfare of the orphans and reduce disease and poverty. The supervised orphans are aged between 3 and 15 years and live in the village of Busiiro in Luuka district (formerly Iganga district) in Uganda. UKHF is a hands-on charity managed by a small team of volunteers. Their patron is actress Dame Helen Mirren. In addition to the practical support and guidance provided by UKHF, fundraising events are also organized to facilitate important improvements to the school. The Healing Focus School provides basic school education to 250 orphans in Busiiro. Through the UKHF Scholarship Fund, 5 students are able to continue their secondary education at the Busiiro Secondary School. A Vocational Training Centre was inaugurated in 2017 where sewing and computer classes are provided to teach marketable skills to help young people who are unable to continue their secondary education to find work so they can provide for themselves and their families. UKHF also work in partnership with FEMLEAD, a Girls Initiative Program, which provides regular workshops empowering girls and young women to reach their full potential.

History

The Healing Focus Orphanage Center (HFOC) was founded in 2005 by Tom Bagoole and his wife Esther. Tom was a bank clerk in Kampala and his wife worked for the Foundation for Human Rights, a Ugandan non-governmental organization. Tom had worked as a construction worker to finance his own education and eventually to attend university.

Esther had been homeless at a young age, had worked as a maid, and despite hardships obtained a master’s degree from university. Because of their own harsh past, the couple decided to help the orphans and street children from Tom’s village. The Healing Focus Orphanage Center was founded with the help of friends and initially funded by Tom and Esther’s own salaries. When Paul Freeman and his wife Maggie Scott met Tom and Esther in 2008, they were delighted to be able to visit the center and make their own little contribution.

Paul and Maggie were so impressed with Tom and Esther’s dedication that they decided to help the best way they could. During their next visit in 2009, they helped find a suitable school building for 250 orphans. Upon their return, they convinced a number of friends in England to support the project as well. Since 2010, the UK Friends of Healing Focus has been a registered charity in the UK.

The Ugandan Ministry of Education requires that all school buildings be built in brick. If not, the school’s license will be revoked. UKHF and HFOC have worked together to raise the money needed to build two classroom buildings. The guardians in the community rallied together and donated bricks. Thanks to generous donors, HFOC is able to hire qualified teaching staff who work tirelessly earning HFOC the title of Best School in the District for three years running, with a 100% pass rate. HFOC has been able to purchase farmland to grow maize and cassava to feed the children and invest in water tanks supplying the children with clean drinking water. Solar panels were installed to light the school classrooms and last year, HFOC was supplied with electricity.

Photos on this page: Photo Copyright by UKHF

CONTACT & DONATION

A lot has been accomplished but there is still so much more to do. Any donation will make a great difference to the lives of the children. A little goes a long way in Uganda.

Du you want to know more about UK Healing Focus?
Your welcome to visit the charity website:

ukhealingfocus.org

or write an E-Mail
admin@ukhealingfocus.org

UK FRIENDS OF HEALING FOCUS

MISSION

UK Friends of Healing Focus arbeitet zusammen mit dem ugandischen NGO Healing Focus School and Orphanage Center zusammen, um die Bildung sowie die Entwicklung und das Wohlergehen der Waisenkinder zu verbessern und um Krankheiten und Armut zu reduzieren. Die betreuten Waisenkinder sind zwischen 3 und 15 Jahre alt und leben in dem Dorf Busiiro im Bezirk Luuka (ehemals Iganga) in Uganda. UKHF ist eine praxisnahe Wohltätigkeitsorganisation, die von einem kleinen Team von Freiwilligen verwaltet wird. Ihre Schirmherrin ist die Schauspielerin Dame Helen Mirren. Neben der praxisnahen Unterstützung und Führung durch UKHF werden auch Spendenaktionen organisiert, um wichtige Verbesserungen an der Schule zu ermöglichen. Die Healing Focus School bietet 250 Waisenkindern in Busiiro eine Grundschulbildung. Über den UKHF-Stipendienfonds können 5 Schüler ihre Sekundarschulbildung an der Busiiro-Sekundarschule fortsetzen. Im Jahr 2017 wurde ein Berufsausbildungszentrum eröffnet, in dem Näh- und Computerkurse angeboten werden, um marktgängige Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln, die jungen Menschen helfen, die ihre Sekundarschulbildung nicht fortsetzen können, um eine Arbeit zu finden, mit der sie sich selbst und ihre Familien versorgen können. UKHF arbeitet auch mit FEMLEAD, einem Programm für Mädcheninitiativen, zusammen, das regelmäßig Workshops anbietet, in denen Mädchen und junge Frauen ihr volles Potenzial entfalten können.

GESCHICHTE

Das Healing Focus Orphanage Center (HFOC) wurde 2005 von Tom Bagoole und seiner Frau Esther gegründet. Tom war Bankangestellter in Kampala und seine Frau arbeitete für die Stiftung für Menschenrechte, eine ugandische Nichtregierungsorganisation. Tom hatte als Bauarbeiter gearbeitet, um seine eigene Ausbildung zu finanzieren und schließlich die Universität zu besuchen.

Esther war in jungen Jahren obdachlos gewesen, hatte als Zimmermädchen gearbeitet und trotz der Strapazen einen Masterabschluss an der Universität erworben. Wegen ihrer eigenen harten Vergangenheit fasste das Ehepaar den Entschluss, den Waisenkindern und Straßenkindern aus Toms Dorf zu helfen. Das Healing Focus Orphanage Center wurde mit Hilfe von Freunden gegründet und zunächst durch die eigenen Gehälter von Tom und Esther finanziert. Als Paul Freeman und seine Frau Maggie Scott im Jahre 2008 mit Tom und Esther Bekanntschaft machten, waren sie erfreut, das Zentrum besuchen und ihren eigenen kleinen Beitrag leisten zu können.

Paul und Maggie waren so beeindruckt von Tom und Esthers Engagement, dass sie beschlossen, so weit wie möglich zu helfen. Bei ihrem nächsten Besuch im Jahr 2009 halfen sie, ein geeignetes Schulgebäude für 250 Waisenkinder zu finden. Nach ihrer Rückkehr überzeugten sie eine Reihe von Freunden in England, das Projekt ebenfalls zu unterstützen. Seit 2010 ist UK Friends of Healing Focus eine eingetragene Wohltätigkeitsorganisation in Großbritannien.

Das ugandische Bildungsministerium verlangt, dass alle Schulgebäude aus Backstein gebaut werden. Sofern dies nicht der Fall ist, wird der Schule die Lizenz entzogen. UKHF und HFOC haben zusammen daran gearbeitet, das Geld für den Bau von zwei Unterrichtsgebäuden aufzubringen. Die Betreuer der Gemeinde kamen für diesen Zweck zusammen und spendeten Ziegelsteine. Dank großzügiger Spender ist das HFOC in der Lage, qualifiziertes Lehrpersonal einstellen, das unermüdlich arbeitet und HFOC den Titel der besten Schule des Distrikts für drei Jahre in Folge mit einer Passquote von 100% beschert. HFOC konnte Ackerland für den Anbau von Mais und Maniok erwerben, um die Kinder zu ernähren und in Wassertanks zu investieren, die die Kinder mit sauberem Trinkwasser versorgen. Für die Beleuchtung der Schulklassen wurden Solarpanel installiert und im letzten Jahr wurde HFOC mit Strom versorgt.

Fotos auf dieser Seite: Photo Copyright by UKHF

KONTAKT & SPENDEN

Es wurde viel erreicht, aber es gibt noch so viel mehr zu tun. Jede Spende hat einen großen Einfluss auf das Leben der Kinder. Mit wenig kann man in Uganda viel erreichen.

Möchtet Ihr mehr über die UK Healing Fokus erfahren?
Dann besucht doch mal die Website der Charity-Organisation

ukhealingfocus.org

oder schreibt eine E-Mail an
admin@ukhealingfocus.org